The municipality of Goražde on the Drina river, 1/8

In town: obstructed view of the new mosque by the river, 2/8

In winter, 3/8

Walkway under the bridge to protect pedestrians from gunfire – a relic of the siege, 4/8

Even inner-city residents start early collecting firewood for the winter, 5/8

One of many residential blocks from the Tito era, 6/8

Goražde is located on the slopes above the Drina river, 7/8

Winter in the city centre, 8/8

The project

The first Bosna Quilts were made in the Galina refugee hostel in Vorarlberg, Austria in 1993. At the time, local artists tried various ways of giving employment to the women who had fled from Bosnia. The Bosna Quilt Werkstatt was initiated by Lucia Lienhard-Giesinger, with about 30 women contributing at the start. Exhibitions soon followed, and working on the Quilts became an important purpose in life for many of the participating women. The refugees, among them Safira Hošo and Vesna Malokas, were able to return after the end of the war. They went back to their home town of Goražde, which had been under siege for three years. It was unthinkable for Safira that the workshop should be closed on her return. She put together a new group of women who had lived through the war at home and taught them how to make quilts. From then on, the colour schemes for Bosna Quilts have been composed in Vorarlberg, and the quilting has been done on the banks of the Drina river. The finished quilts find a home in many private households but also in public spaces all over the world. The eleven women in the project can thus rely on a regular income and a certain degree of economic security for their families: the women get paid immediately upon completing a quilt, regardless of when it is sold.

The first workshop in the Galina refugee hostel (photo series: Nikolaus Walter), 1/11

Vesna Malokas and her son at the Galina former army barracks, 2/11

Safira Hošo and her family, 3/11

The Bosna Quilt Werkstatt 1994, 4/11

Quilts from 1993, 5/11

Life in the refugee hostel, 6/11

Life in the refugee hostel, 7/11

A file folder with some useful Bosnian words for the first talks, 8/11

Today, quilts are designed in Bregenz and sewn in Goražde, 9/11

The quilters meet regularly for exchange, 10/11

Lucia is a guest in Goražde at least twice a year, 11/11

On the Drina river

Goražde, a town of about 20,000 inhabitants, is located on the Drina river in the south-east of Bosnia and Herzegovina. During the Bosnian war from 1992 to 1995, the town was beleaguered by Serbian troops almost from the start. Today, it is a Bosnian enclave surrounded by the Republic of Serbia and connected to the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina by what is only a narrow corridor. Although the armed conflict ended more than twenty years ago, it is still very much felt by the inhabitants. Life in Goražde is characterised by a certain sense of isolation and high unemployment.

The gardens are kept in perfect condition, 1/10

Emina’s garden on the Drina, 2/10

Safira, a sophisticated lady, 3/10

Hospitality, sunshine, strawberries and the inevitable cigarettes, 4/10

The annual working meeting, 5/10

Lucia with Safira and Mirza, 6/10

Sabina Dolo and her grandson, 7/10

Getting ready for a garden fête, 8/10

Mirza Mašić and a “raw” Quilt, 9/10

The view from Sada’s kitchen on to the Drina, 10/10

The people

The Bosna Quilt Werkstatt would not exist without the wonderful work of all the people involved. Lucia Lienhard-Giesinger has managed the project from the start and designs the patchwork or colour-field painting. Safira Hošo pulls all the threads together in Goražde. She and Munira Karo, Mirza Mašić, Sabina Dolo, Hedija Kazagić, Sada Srna, Ševala Hadžimesić, Mirza Kozo, Ćamila Sudić, Emina Hošo and Vesna Malokas do the quilting. Some of the women have found day-time employment in the fields or vegetable patches, others have a factory job. For some, quilting is the only work that brings in an income. But for all of them, quilting is an important part of their lives. Safira says: “It is my love and my life”.

Lucia Lienhard-Giesinger (photo series: Franziska Messner-Rast), 1/13

Ćamila Sudić, 2/13

Emina Hošo, 3/13

Hedija Kazagić, 4/13

Mirza Kozo, 5/13

Mirza Mašić, 6/13

Munira Karo, 7/13

In Goražde, 8/13

Sabina Dolo, 9/13

Safira Hošo, 10/13

Ševala Hadžimesić, 11/13

Sada Srna, 12/13

Vesna Malokas, 13/13

The picture booklets

If you want to find out more about our history and at the same time enjoy more quilts, photos and texts at your own pace, we recommend our picture booklets: four lovingly compiled booklets as a boxed set, published to mark the twentieth anniversary of the Bosna Quilt Werkstatt. Available in real bookshops and online. ISBN 9783990182390.

The four picture booklets at a glance (photo series: Günter König), 1/7

Lots of new quilts and portraits, 2/7

Short portraits of all participants and their artistic style, 3/7

Short portraits of all participants and their artistic style, 4/7

Many beautiful photos sent to us by quilt owners from all over the world, 5/7

Where our quilts have found their homes, 6/7

Impressions of past exhibitions, 7/7

Top

Das Stadgebiet von Goražde an der Drina, 1/8

In der Stadt: verstellter Blick auf die neue Moschee am Fluss, 2/8

Im Winter, 3/8

Fußgängerebene unter der Brücke als Schutz vor Schüssen – Erinnerung an die Belagerungszeit, 4/8

Um das Holz für den Winter kümmern sich auch die Innenstadtbewohner schon im Sommer, 5/8

Einer der vielen Wohnblocks aus der Tito-Zeit, 6/8

Goražde, Kleinstadt mit rund 20 000 Einwohnern, liegt am Hang über der Drina, 7/8

Die Innenstadt im Winter, 8/8

das Projekt

1993 entstanden im Flüchtlingsheim Galina in Vorarlberg die ersten Bosna Quilts. Vorarlberger Künstlerinnen versuchten damals mit verschiedenen Ansätzen, den geflohenen Frauen Möglichkeiten der Beschäftigung zu geben. Unter der Leitung von Lucia Lienhard-Giesinger wurde so die Bosna Quilt Werkstatt gegründet. Etwa 30 Frauen arbeiteten in der Anfangszeit mit. Erste Ausstellungen fanden bald statt, an den Quilts zu arbeiten wurde ein wichtiger Lebensinhalt für viele der Beteiligten. Nach Kriegsende konnten die Flüchtlinge wieder zurück. So auch Safira Hošo und Vesna Malokas. Sie kamen heim nach Goražde, das drei Jahre lang belagert gewesen war. Für Safira war es undenkbar, die Werkstatt mit der Rückkehr aufzulösen. Sie stellte eine neue Gruppe von Frauen zusammen, die den Krieg zuhause erlebt hatten, und brachte ihnen das Quilten näher. Seither werden die Farben der Bosna Quilts am Bodensee komponiert und die Nahtzeichnungen an der Drina ausgeführt. In verschiedensten Wohnstätten wie auch in öffentlichen Räumen auf der ganzen Welt finden sie schließlich ihr Zuhause. Die beteiligten elf Frauen können auf ein regelmäßiges Einkommen und damit auch auf eine gewisse wirtschaftliche Sicherheit für ihre Familien zählen: Unmittelbar nachdem ein Quilt fertiggestellt ist, wird die Ausführende dafür bezahlt. Unabhängig davon, wann er verkauft wird.

Die erste Werkstatt im Flüchtlingsheim Galina (Fotoserie: Nikolaus Walter), 1/11

Vesna Malokas und ihr Sohn in der Galina – einer ehemaligen Kaserne, 2/11

Safira Hošo und ihre Familie, 3/11

Die Bosna Quilt Werkstatt 1994, 4/11

Quilts aus dem Jahr 1993, 5/11

Aus dem Leben im Flüchtlingsheim, 6/11

Aus dem Leben im Flüchtlingsheim, 7/11

Eine Mappe mit den wichtigsten bosnischen Wörtern für die ersten Besprechungen, 8/11

Heute wird in Bregenz entworfen und in Goražde übernäht, 9/11

Regelmäßig trifft man sich zum Austausch, 10/11

Mindestens zwei Mal im Jahr ist Lucia in Goražde zu Gast, 11/11

an der Drina

Goražde, rund 20 000 Einwohner, liegt am Fluss Drina, im Südosten von Bosnien und Herzegowina. Während des Bosnienkriegs 1992–1995 wurde die Stadt fast von Beginn an durch serbische Truppen belagert. Heute ist sie eine bosnische Enklave, umschlossen vom Gebiet der serbischen Teilrepublik und nur durch einen schmalen Korridor mit der bosnischen Föderation verbunden. Über zwanzig Jahre nach dem Ende des bewaffneten Konflikts wirkt dieser sich auf die Bewohner noch immer deutlich aus. Die spezielle Situation des Abgeschlossen-Seins und die hohe Arbeitslosigkeit prägen das Leben in der Stadt.

Die Gärten sind meisterhaft gepflegt, 1/10

Eminas Garten an der Drina, 2/10

Safira, eine Dame von Welt, 3/10

Gastfreundlichkeit, Sonne, Erdbeeren und die obligatorischen Zigaretten, 4/10

Die jährliche Arbeitsbesprechung, 5/10

Lucia mit Safira und Mirza, 6/10

Sabina Dolo mit ihrem Enkel, 7/10

Vorbereitung für ein Gartenfest, 8/10

Mirza Mašić und ein «roher» Quilt, 9/10

Der Blick aus Sadas Küche auf die Drina, 10/10

die Menschen

Ohne die wunderbare Arbeit aller Beteiligten würde die Bosna Quilt Werkstatt nicht existieren. Von Anfang an leitet Lucia Lienhard-Giesinger das Projekt und entwirft die Farbfeldmalerei, das Patchwork. Bei Safira Hošo laufen in Goražde die Fäden zusammen. Sie und Munira Karo, Mirza Mašić, Sabina Dolo, Hedija Kazagić, Sada Srna, Ševala Hadžimesić, Mirza Kozo, Ćamila Sudić, Emina Hošo und Vesna Malokas nähen die Quilts. Die einen arbeiten tagsüber am Feld oder im Garten, die anderen in der Fabrik – für manche ist es auch die einzige Arbeit, die Geld einbringt. Für alle aber ist es ein wichtiger Teil des Lebens. Safira sagt: «Es ist meine Liebe und mein Leben.»

Lucia Lienhard-Giesinger (Fotoserie: Franziska Messner-Rast), 1/13

Ćamila Sudić, 2/13

Emina Hošo, 3/13

Hedija Kazagić, 4/13

Mirza Kozo, 5/13

Mirza Mašić, 6/13

Munira Karo, 7/13

In Goražde, 8/13

Sabina Dolo, 9/13

Safira Hošo, 10/13

Ševala Hadžimesić, 11/13

Sada Srna, 12/13

Vesna Malokas, 13/13

die Bildhefte

Wenn Sie mehr über unsere Geschichte erfahren und zugleich mehr Quilts, Bilder und Texte in Ruhe genießen möchten, können wir ihnen die Bildhefte ans Herz legen. Das sind vier fein hergestellte Themenhefte in einem Schuber, erschienen zum zwanzigjährigen Jubiläum der Bosna Quilt Werkstatt. Erhältlich in echten Buchhandlungen und im Internet, ISBN 9783990182390.

Die vier Bildhefte im Überblick (Fotoserie: Günter König), 1/7

Viele neue Quilts und Portraits, 2/7

Kurzportraits aller Beteiligten und ihrer Handschrift, 3/7

Kurzportraits aller Beteiligten und ihrer Handschrift, 4/7

Viele schöne Bilder, die uns Quiltbesitzer aus der ganzen Welt geschickt haben, 5/7

Wo Quilts überall gelandet sind, 6/7

Eindrücke von Ausstellungen der letzten Jahre, 7/7

Nach oben